THE OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE GRANT PARISH SCHOOL

BOARD OF THE PARISH OF GRANT, STATE OF LOUISIANA, TAKEN

AT A REGULAR MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 11, 2018

The Parish School Board of the Parish of Grant, State of Louisiana, met in its regular meeting place, the Grant Parish School Board Office, Colfax, Louisiana, in Regular Session, Thursday January 11, 2018 at 6:00 o'clock P.M.

There were present Mrs. Mary Bullock, Mr. Buddy Pennison, Mrs. Charlene Anderson, Mr. A. D. Futrell, and Mr. Randy Browning. Mrs. Karen Layton, Mrs. Lisa Roberts, and Mr. Bill Riggs were absent.

Mrs. Sheila S. Jackson, Secretary-Treasurer was also present.

The Parish School Board of the Parish of Grant, State of Louisiana, was duly convened by Mrs. Charlene Anderson, President of the Grant Parish School Board, who then stated that the Grant Parish School Board was ready to transact any business which may come before the Board.

Motion by Mr. A.D. Futrell, seconded by Mr. Buddy Pennison and unanimously approved to elect Mr. Randy Browning as President of the Grant Parish School Board for 2018.

Motion by Mrs. Charlene Anderson, seconded by Mr. Buddy Pennison and unanimously approved to elect Mrs. Lisa Roberts as Vice-President of the Grant Parish School Board for 2018.

Motion by Mrs. Charlene Anderson, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved authorized signature for Colfax Banking Company.

Motion by Mr. Buddy Pennison, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved setting a time and day for the 2018 school board meeting which will be the first Tuesday of the month at 6:00P.M.

Motion by Mrs. Mary Bullock, seconded by Mrs. Charlene Anderson and unanimously approved the January 11, 2018 Regular Meeting Minutes.

The board recognized:

Mr. Andy Bachman and his First Responder Student for placing 1st in the People's Choice Award at the SECO event: Kassidy Bartlette, Meagan Florice, Lane Fredieu, Halanna Futrell, Devin Gray, Cierra Mcleod, Brooklyn Miller, Peyton Ryder, Tatum Schrader, Bailey

Snoody, Sytiana Vaughn, Jimmy Huson, Chanuk Hyung, Desiree Dunn, Ashton Ducote, Ja'Nerika Gray, Cameron Henderson, April Satcher, Dakota Siddle, Jasie Stangle, Tori Couvillion, and Nicholas Hollingsworth.

Grant High Students placing 4th at State FFA Dairy Competition: McKenzee Monroe, Sam Tarpley, Garrett Watkins, and Preston Parker.

The following guest was recognized: Lee Willis, Auditor with Rozier, Harrington & McKay, to report on the 2016-17 audit.

Retirements: None

Committee items:

The Finance Committee discussed, no business was transacted.

The Transportation and Maintenance Committee discussed, no business was transacted.

Motion by Mrs. Charlene Anderson, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved superintendent traveling out of state in February.

Motion by Mr. Buddy Pennison, seconded by Mrs. Charlene Anderson and unanimously approved Policy revisions: EB, Buildings and Grounds Management; GAMA, Employee Tobacco Use; JCDAA, Student Smoking/Use of Tobacco; and KG Use of School Facilities.

Motion by Mrs. Mary Bullock, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved eGMS 2017-2018 Formula Transition Believe and Prepare Application that has been approved by the Louisiana State Department of Education.

Motion by Mrs. Mary Bullock, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved eGMS Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF) Application that has been accepted by the Louisiana State Department of Education.

Motion by Mr. A.D. Futrell, seconded by Mrs. Mary Bullock and unanimously approved granting the Superintendent permission to disperse millage checks when the money becomes available.

Received for approval, Policy revision: DFN, Sale of Buildings and Land; ECA, Authorized Use of Equipment; GBC, Recruitment; GBRIB, Sick Leave; EE, Child Nutrition Program Management; IDCJ, Supplemental Educational Services; IDDH, English Learner Program; IFD, Parent and Family Engagement; IFDA, Parental Rights/Student Rights of Privacy; and JR, Student Privacy and Education Records, at the February meeting.

The Superintendent discussed with Board Members, Personnel Report, Financial Report, Calendars, Student of the Year Reception at 4:00pm at the February meeting, LARMA: Member Spotlight, and Scholastic: District Spotlight.

Motion by Mr. Buddy Pennison, seconded by Mr. A.D. Futrell and unanimously approved adjourning the meeting.

s/Randy Browning
Randy Browning
President
Grant Parish School Board

ATTEST: _______Sheila S. Jackson
Secretary-Treasurer
Grant Parish School Board